Heavy Vehicle Permits

Heavy Vehicle National Law

The Heavy Vehicle National Law (HVNL) commenced on 10th February 2014. The introduction of this legislation unifies the laws of Queensland, New South Wales, Victoria, South Australia and Tasmania. The Australian Capital Territory and Northern Territory will commence the new national law at a later date. Western Australia will not commence the HVNL at this time.

The National Heavy Vehicle Regulator (NHVR) was created to administer one set of rules for all vehicles over 4.5 tonnes gross vehicle mass to improve safety and productivity, minimise the compliance burden on the heavy vehicle transport industry and reduce duplication and inconsistencies across state and territory borders.

All vehicles operating outside of general access provisions require an authority from the NHVR to operate. Such vehicles have access to a restricted road network or require a permit for access to other roads. This affects the following vehicle types:

  • All Performance Base Standards (PBS)
  • B-Doubles
  • Vehicles operating at Higher Mass Limits (HML)
  • Special purpose vehicles
  • Oversize overmass vehicles

All access requests are submitted by the operator to the National Heavy Vehicle Regulator who will issue consents for pre-approved roads. Arterial roads managed by VicRoads within the municipality are generally pre-approved although weight and speed restrictions may apply. Ararat Rural City Council has also established a network of pre-approved roads for different vehicle classes.

For other municipal roads, requests are referred to Council for consent. Council will continue to assess heavy vehicle access requests on a case by case basis.

The following roads within the municipality of Ararat Rural City Council are managed by VicRoads:

  • Western Highway
  • Pyrenees Highway
  • Ararat – St Arnauds Road
  • Ararat – Halls Gap Road
  • Maroona – Glenthompson road
  • Mortlake Ararat Road
  • Grampians Road
  • Streatham – Rossbridge Road